Monday, December 31, 2012

Repp - Garrelts Wedding

Miss Lillie Elizabeth Repp and Mr. Henry J. Garrelts were united in marriage at the home of the bride's parents north of Roberts Thursday afternoon, February 14, 1918 at two o'clock, Rev. Schumacher of Melvin, officiating.
Just at the appointed time Reuben Ebert played the wedding march and the bridal couple came in attended by Miss Lena Kietzman bridesmaid and Mr. Louis Phelsfield, best man.
The bride is an amiable young daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Repp and has many friends in this vicinity. She was dressed in a beautiful gown of white crepe de Chine and was attended by her cousin, Lena Kietzman who also wore white crepe de Chine. The groom is an industrious young farmer who has spent the past two years near Roberts. He wore navy blue and the best man, Louis Phelsfield, cousin of the groom, also wore navy blue.
Only the near relatives were present. After the ceremony a bounteous dinner was served.
The young bridal pair left that evening for Gilman where they will spend several days, after which they will reside on the farm where the brides parents now live. Mr. and Mrs. Repp will move to Roberts.
The Herald joins the friends in congratulations.
Those from a distance who attended the wedding were:  Mr. and Mrs. William Kietzman and family, Emil Kietzman and Mr. and Mrs. Delford Roberts of Gilman; and Ed Kietzman of Loda.

--Roberts Herald. 2 February 1918.

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Colteaux Hospital 1923-1940


The Colteaux hospital is now in complete operation. This may sound like a peculiar statement in view of the fact that it has been in operation for at least six weeks, but until the past week it was only being used as a temporary arrangement.  Now it has each and every room equipped for its special use.  The rooms are all numbered in regular style so as to avoid confusion.  The patients' rooms are nicely furnished with everything for their comfort.  There are rooms and cots for seven patients.  While this may not be sufficient at times, should occasion demand more there will be room available so that no one need fear not finding room there in case of emergency.
In the matter of cost, everybody knows that the doctor purchased this place at a very reasonable price considering the splendid location, the one large building and the potentially beautiful grounds.  We most not consider that this first cost is the actual cost of the place.  There are single rooms with equipment in them that cost more than the purchase price of the building.  Price or cost is one of the things the doctor never discusses but a close observation will show that from a business point of view this hospital represents an investment that will compare favorably with any other businesses in the locality.
Going back to the building it is equipped with all modern improvements with bathrooms on each floor, heating apparatus, laundry, etc. in the basement.  There is a special wire from the local light plant to the hospital so that in case of accident to the village lines the hospital will be the last place to suffer if it suffers at all. The operating room is nicely arranged, has plenty of light, with frosted glass windows to avoid glare and (?) of that element.
The electrical room is equipped with four different machines for electrical treatment.  These are different machines and each for a special use of which a description that we might give would tell but little.  The (?) room is equipped with so many kinds of apparatus that we could not mention all, but there is one combination that we must not miss.  First an aluminum cot under which an X-Ray light is installed.  This light passes through aluminum as ordinary light does through glass.  Then the doctor has a specially prepared head piece to look at objects shown by this light.  This gives him the free use of both hands and is very convenient in taking X-Ray views. Several parts of the combination is of the doctor's own invention. There is also a dark room for developing X-Ray pictures.
Dr. Colteaux, head of this institution, puts in much of his time "on the road" as he always has, but a large practice may now be confined to the one place which gives him an opportunity for much better service.
Miss Stella Davis, head nurse of the hospital, is a native of Thawville. She is a graduate nurse from the Champaign Hospital and has had several years successful experience as a nurse in this county.  She is well qualified for the place and we believe will prove the doctor's good judgment in her selection.
Orville Knight is another employee of the place who should not be missed even in the most casual writeup.  He has driven the Colteaux automobile for so many years that he has rightfully gained a place of distinction here. When the roads were good and when they were bad, on the darkest nights, through the hardest storms, through the deepest mud, through floods, snow banks, and over the roughest roads, day and night, Orville has driven the car through Lyman, Wall, Germanville, Benton, Artesia, Loda and all surrounding townships.  He remains and drives the car and when not on active duty is on the waiting list at the hospital.
There are other employees and there are rooms that we have not described. We must leave them for some future article.  In the meantime the question might be asked, "Will it pay?"  The answer is emphatically, "Yes".  In dollars and cents? "Yes"; but most of all in the satisfaction of "a duty well performed"; a preparation to use the talents that have been for the greatest benefit to his fellowmen.

--Roberts Herald.  21 March 1923.

Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Lyman Township

Lyman Township was named after Samual Lyman, the descendant of Richard Lyman who came to Connecticut in 1631. Samual, his wife Lucretia (Burt) and five children moved to what was to become Lyman Township and built the first permanent house there in July of 1856.
In 1857 a colony of Connecticut people settled in the area and took up about 7,000 acres. Among the settlers listed in the colony were the following: S.K. Marston, E.L. Havens, Captain A.C. Maxon, S.C. Burt, John T. Forbes, Lyman Peck, J.M. Wyman, G.H. Thompson, G.B. Winter, H.J. Gamble, William S. Rossey, William Bentley, Daniel Hutchinson, Enoch and Moses Morgan, Robert Eggleston, Sam Birdsley, I.N. Newton, N.C. Ball, James Sellick, W.S. Larkin, Reuben Pearson, R.A. Hungerford, and Henry Dennis.
At a meeting of the board of Supervisors held September 9, 1867 a petition was presented to form a new township out of part of Brenton, described as town 25 north, range 9 east of the third principal meridian. The petition was granted and the township took its name after the first resident settler. In April 1868 the first township meeting was held and the following officers were elected: Samual Woodward, supervisor; A.M. Haling, town clerk; Daniel Woodward, collector; A.V. Burcham, assessor; A.V. Burcham, James Roberts, and P.S. Gose, highway commissioners. Samuel Woodward and T.A. Ireland, justices of the peace; Daniel Woodward and Daniel Althen, constables. At the same meeting four road districts and nine school districts were designated.
The first child born in the township was Rosa Bushor. The first marriage was celebrated in 1860 between James Crow and Kate Birdsley. The first death was that of Mrs. Henry Dennis, who was buried on the A.M. Peck farm, Section 4.

--History of Ford County Illinois. 1985.